Germany – World Cup preview

June 04, 2018

by xfcedi

Germany's flag - World Cup preview

Stats are what best define the German national team. Here’s why. They’re the second most successful football team in World Cup history. They’re defending the trophy they’ve won four years ago. And they’ve qualified with a perfect record, winning all ten of their games, only team to do so.

Yes, Germany remains a football machine. And with talented players seemingly constantly coming up the ranks, they remain among the favorites to win the tournament. No team has won back to back World Cup trophies, but few would bet against die Mannschaft in 2018.

Star players: Manuel Neuer,Leroy Sané, Toni Kroos

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid) - Germany

FootballCoin stars:

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid) 6,252.24 seasonal points (Pro), 2,146.20 (Easy)

Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich)  – 3,995.58 seasonal points (Pro), 1,411.20 (Easy)

Coach: Joachim Low

Group: F

Group fixtures:

Sun June 17: Germany – Mexico, Moscow (Luzhniki), 4pm

Sat June 23: Germany – Sweden, Sochi, 4pm

Wed June 27: South Korea – Germany, Kazan, 3pm

Joshua Kimmich (Germany)

Prediction: Germany are the most efficient national teams in recent decades. As a rule of thumb, if the Germans do not end up winning the competition, they certainly manage to make unto the final stages.

There is no certainty of this, of course, and with a tough group on their hands, the Germans could potentiality struggle. However, hardships have rarely stopped Low’s team. With many players of an extremely successful generation of players and hungry, younger players, Germany is expected to reach the final stages of the tournament and overall should be considered among the favorites to win.

– Squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Marc-André ter Stegen, Kevin Trapp.

Defenders: Jerome Boateng, Matthias Ginter, Mats Hummels, Antonio Rüdiger, Jonas Hector, Marvin Plattenhardt, Niklas Süle, Joshua Kimmich

Midfielders: Julian Brandt, Julian Draxler, Leon Goretzka, Ilkay Gündogan, Sami Khedira, Toni Kroos, Mesut Özil, Sebastian Rudy

Forwards:  Marco Reus, Thomas Müller, Mario Gomez, Timo Werner

World Cup history: 1930, 1934 (Third place), 1938, 1954, 1954 (Winners), 1958, 1962, 1966 (Runners-up), 1970, 1974 (Champions), 1978, 1982 (Runners-Up), 1986 (Runners-Up), 1990 (Champions), 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006 (Third place), 2010 (Third Place), 2014 (Winners), 2018

Recent updates: 

Who are your fantasy football picks?
Do you opt for many budget-friendly players?
Have your say by playing FootballCoin. You can be rewarded daily for your choices.

Start playing